top of page

什麼是唐卡?

唐卡畫是一種古老的藏族藝術,在喜馬拉雅山地區已保存了兩千年。唐卡語是藏語,意思是“錄音信息”。西藏唐卡是一幅畫卷,可以通過視覺符號和顏色像地圖一樣探索。每一個細節都是錯綜複雜的,具有深遠的象徵意義,指的是佛教哲學的一部分。因此,佛教唐卡旨在將美術與靈性相結合,以創造出充滿哲學意義的迷人藝術品。

 

 

我們所有的畫作都來自唐卡的原始出生地,即西藏,尼泊爾,北印度和不丹。根據細節的大小和質量,使用24克拉金,純銀和喜馬拉雅礦物,一位藝術家最多可能需要三年才能完成一件作品。正宗的唐卡畫在棉花上,通常描繪佛教神靈,場景或曼陀羅。

 

 

我們的大部分繪畫作品都是尼泊爾和西藏喇嘛和外籍人士製作的,因為它們都是唐卡秘密的原始持有人。按照傳統,西藏喇嘛是佛法的捍衛者,其地位與印度的古魯斯相似。

Om Mani Padme Hum Mantra, Tibetan Thangka Mandala
50587056_948896975320531_438002772743290
品質卓越

Gammas是唯一一家只出售優質唐卡畫的藏族美術館。我們很榮幸為客戶提供最好的藏族藝術品選擇。我們所有的畫作都經過我們倫敦畫廊的嚴格篩選,並保證是原創,真實和全新的

 

不幸的是,大多數其他可以在網上找到的唐卡賣家都不認同我們的道德原則,並且以高品質的名義出售劣質畫。他們的畫作通常是由學生或業餘愛好者僅使用彩色塗料製成的,即使使用了不同的顏色,也沒有使用24克拉金。有時,可以在細節上找到差異,這對受過培訓的人來說是顯而易見的,但有時可能很難被新客戶發現。

 

我們發現這令人震驚,這就是為什麼我們詳細描述我們的藝術品與其他地方的藝術品有何不同之處,從而使我們的客戶確信他們只購買高質量的藝術品。

 

喇嘛繪畫

佛教喇嘛手工製作的繪畫是值得特別關注的兩種繪畫之一。喇嘛的頭銜只是正式地擴展到幾十位達到最高精神發展水平的藏傳佛教僧侶。

 

 

在佛教傳統中,喇嘛繪畫被認為是最高的品質之一。喇嘛必須接受嚴格的培訓,以學習如何應用24克拉黃金和純銀在畫布上創造出真實而誘人的持久效果。喇嘛通常有40多年的繪畫經驗,然後才能使用喇嘛身份繪畫唐卡。

 

 

在“釋放給世人”之前,這些繪畫曾被喇嘛和整個聖殿祈禱,並給予他們祝福和積極的能量。某些人認為,喇嘛創作的畫可以帶來好運,因為喇嘛將自己的部分精力留在了畫中。據說即使看這樣的畫也會在人心中留下積極的烙印,從而帶來未來的幸福。

Chenrezig Tibetan Thangka
Black Label Gallery: Thangka Masterworks of Nepal

Black Label Gallery: Thangka Masterworks of Nepal

播放影片
繪畫技巧

唐卡是在紡織材料(通常是棉或絲綢)上繪畫或刺繡的一種形式。畫布的準備是該過程的重要組成部分,其質量會極大地影響繪畫。將動物皮膚膠水,熱熔膠和水的混合物塗在畫布上,在陽光下乾燥並用玻璃拋光。此過程不斷重複,可能需要長達兩週的時間。

 

 

畫布準備就緒後,畫家將進行精確的測量並使用木炭繪製草圖。用來製作優質唐卡的塗料來自珍貴和半珍貴的天然礦物,晶體和植物材料,例如珍珠,珊瑚,青金石,硃砂,硫磺,石青石,孔雀石等。這些天然物質眾所周知他們的癒合性能和力量。藝術家將材料研磨成細粉,然後將其與生膠和水混合以製成油漆。這保證了這些年來繪畫的色彩始終保持鮮豔生動。最後的修飾是採用24克拉黃金和純銀製成的。

 

 

最後,由經驗豐富的藝術家製作的高品質畫作被帶到一個高度認識的佛教大師或喇嘛手中,以使圖像“活著”並註入正能量。經過這一過程,唐卡成為智慧的容器,隨時可以垂懸,成為開明思想真正的活生生的體現。

Green Tara, Newari, Tibetan Thangka

紐瓦藝術

紐瓦藝術(Newa Art)也被稱為紐瓦里風格,起源於尼泊爾加德滿都谷地,紐瓦人生活和創作的地方。紐瓦里(Newari)的藝術家在整個亞洲享有盛譽,被譽為具有無與倫比的技巧和圖像專業知識的世界級畫家和雕塑家,可與古普塔時期的印度同行媲美。印度,中國和藏族的版稅使尼泊爾的藝術家得以從事重要的藝術創作。

 

紐瓦里(Newari)藝術對傳統西藏繪畫的發展產生了重大影響。在文化動態學中採用新思想導致了藏族繪畫的兩個發展-基於紐瓦(Newar)印度支那(Newari風格)和傳統藏族元素。

 

如今,紐瓦里的畫作通常保存在西方和亞洲的博物館和私人收藏中。只剩下少數真正的畫家可以用這種方式繪畫,因為這需要完善藏族繪畫技術和紐瓦里繪畫風格。

 

如今,Newari風格的畫作很少複製,並且已經足夠絕種。

bottom of page

What is Thangka?

Thangka painting is an ancient type of Tibetan art, which has been preserved in the Himalayan region for two thousand years. Thangka is a Tibetan word, which means 'recorded message'. Tibetan Thangka is a scroll like painting which can be explored like a map through visual symbols and colours. Each detail is intricate and has a deep symbolic meaning, referring to parts of the Buddhist philosophy. Hence, Buddhist Thangka is meant to combine fine art with spirituality, to create a captivating art piece filled with philosophical meaning.

All of our paintings come from the original birthplace of Thangkas, which is Tibet, Nepal, North India and Bhutan. Depending on the size and quality of details it can take an artist up to three years to complete a single piece, using 24 Carat Gold, Sterling Silver and Himalayan minerals. Authentic Thangkas are painted on cotton, usually depicting a Buddhist deity, scene or mandala.

The majority of our paintings are made by the Nepalese and Tibetan Lamas and expats, as they are the original holders of the Thangka secrets. According to the tradition, Tibetan Lamas are defenders of Dharma (Cosmic Laws) and are similar in status to Gurus in India.

Outstanding Quality

Gammas is the only Tibetan art gallery that sells only premium quality Thangka paintings. We are proud to offer our customers only the best selection of Tibetan art. All our paintings go through a rigorous screening process in our gallery in London and are guaranteed to be original, authentic and brand new.

Unfortunately, most other Thangka sellers that can be found online do not share our ethical principles and sell inferior quality paintings under the guise of high quality ones. Often their paintings are made by students or amateurs using exclusively colour paint, without the use of 24 Carat Gold, even if indicated differently. Sometimes the difference can be found in the detail, which is obvious to the trained eye but can at times be difficult to spot by a new customer.

 

We found this appalling that is why we describe in detail how our art pieces differ from the ones that can be found elsewhere so that our customers are sure they buy only high quality art.

Lama Paintings

One of two types of paintings worth extra attention are paintings handcrafted by Buddhist Lamas. Lama is a title officially extended only to the few dozen Tibetan Buddhist monks who have achieved the highest level of spiritual development.

 

In Buddhist tradition, Lama paintings are considered to be one of the highest qualities. Lamas must undergo rigorous training to learn how to apply 24 Carat Gold and Sterling Silver to create an authentic and alluring lasting effect on the canvas. Lamas often have more than 40 years of painting experience before they can use Lama status to paint Thangkas.

Before being "released to the world" these paintings are prayed upon by a Lama and the whole temple, bestowing them with blessings and positive energy. Some people believe that a painting made by a Lama can bring good fortune because Lama leaves part of his energy in the painting. It is said that even looking upon such a painting will place a positive imprint within one's mind resulting in future happiness.

Painting Technique

Thangka is a form of painting or embroidery on a woven material, usually on cotton or silk. Preparation of the canvas is an essential part of the process and the quality of it can greatly influence the painting. A mixture of animal skin glue, distemper and water is applied to the canvas, dried in the sun and polished with glass. This process is continuously repeated and can take up to two weeks.

Once the canvas is ready the artist takes precise measurements and makes a sketch using charcoal. The paint used to make a premium quality Thangka is derived from precious & semi-precious natural minerals, crystals and plant materials, such as pearl, coral, lapiz lazuli, cinnabar, sulfur, azurite, malachite etc. These natural substances are well known for their healing properties and power. The artist grinds the material to a fine powder and mixes it with hide glue and water to create the paint. This guarantees that the colours of the painting stay vivid and vibrant throughout the years. The final touch is made by applying 24 Carat Gold and Sterling Silver.

Finally, premium quality paintings made by experienced artists are taken to a highly realized Buddhist master or Lama to bring the image 'alive' and infuse it with the positive energy. After this process, Thangka is a receptacle of wisdom, ready to be hung as a genuine living embodiment of an enlightened mind.

Newa Art

The Newa Art, also known as Newari style, has its origins in the Valley of Kathmandu in Nepal, where Newa people lived and created. Newari artists achieved international repute throughout Asia, and were acclaimed as world-class painters and sculptors with unparalleled skill and iconographic expertise, rivalling their Indian counterparts of the Gupta period. Indian, Chinese and Tibetan royalties used artists from Nepal to work on important commissions.

 

Newari art has had a great influence on the development of traditional Tibetan paintings. The adoption of new ideas in the cultural dynamics led to two developments in Tibetan paintings - based on Newar Indo-Chinese (Newari style) and traditional Tibetan elements.

 

Nowadays, Newari paintings are commonly kept in museums and private collections in the West and Asia. There are only a handful of genuine painters left, who can draw in this way, as it requires perfecting both Tibetan painting technique and Newari painting style. 

 

Newari style paintings are rarely reproduced nowadays and have near enough become extinct.