top of page

What is the Meaning of Life of Buddha Thangka

Thangka painting depicting Life of Buddha narrates the most relevant life episodes of creator of Buddhist philosophy Siddhartha Gautama Buddha. This artwork is meant to be an illustration of the main events of the historical Buddha.


The Thangka is also considered to be a visual representation of several philosophical aspects of Buddhism, especially the progress towards the achievement of spiritual enlightenment.

Pictured above, are the 'Twelve Great Deeds of the Buddha’s Life':

1. His Promise to Take Birth in the Human Realm and Guide Sentient Beings to Enlightenment
2. Queen Mayadevi’s Dream
3. The Birth of Buddha
4. Buddha’s Early Years and His Worldly Life
5. The Skilful Conduct of Worldly Affairs
6. The Four Encounters
7. The Renunciation of Worldly Life
8. The Six Years of Austerities
9. The Defeat of Mara
10. The Proclamation of the Teachings
11. The Descent from the Trayatrimsa Heaven
12. The Passage into Parinirvana

All of our paintings come from the original birthplace of Thangkas, which is Tibet, Nepal, North India and Bhutan. Depending on the size and quality of details it can take an artist up to three years to complete a single piece, using 24 Carat Gold, Sterling Silver and Himalayan precious & semi-precious minerals.


To find out more about mandalas and purchase exclusive Thangka paintings please visit our shop

bottom of page